View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Apr 25, 2024 12:13 pm

Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 Cultural Diversity Experience 
All-star
All-star

The thing that I thought about most during the video was the similarities between joe's cultural experiences and my own. I never really felt like I fit in with the crowd either and I think that my sister felt the same way and because of that we have grown to be each others best friend. I am Cuba Chinese on my fathers side and Caucasian on my mothers side. Because of that I never really fit into any of the ethic groupings. I think that Joe's story only presented a negitive aspect. I personally think that my ethnicity has helped me, by showing me more than one side of society. I told you all of that because Groton was trying to intergrate students. When I was a freshman I tried to get involved with the "multicultural" student association here at ASU. After three meetings I stopped going. I was the only person at any of the meeting who was not of the African American heritage. My point being that school and colleges alike need to be open to more than white and black heritages. Reach out to Indian, Asian, Etc. backgrounds. Thats when a place will truely be intergrated. We need to be exposed to other cultures, but never lose sight of our own. This doesnt apply to the question that we were asked at the beginning of class, but i think it is still a valid input.

Wed Feb 18, 2004 9:14 pm
Profile YIM
All-star
All-star