View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:41 am

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 14 posts ] 
 Home Schooling?? 
All-star
All-star

:cry: :cry: I just spent about 15 minutes pouring my heart out about home schooling, and my post just disappeared. I can't find it out there anywhere. I guess I will start over!! I will try to shorten my story this time. Betsy - I kept waiting for you to post on this subject. I did not want to "steal" your idea. I thought you must have changed your mind since we discussed it in class. I did not really finish with this subject in class last night. I was hoping that we could continue our discusion on this topic. I have very mixed feelings on this subject. Being a public school teacher, I used to think "what is wrong with these people - why don't they want to send their kids to school." Now that I am a parent, I can see both sides. I don't think I could ever do it myself, but I can see why others choose this approach. I could not be mom and teacher - it would never work for me! However, my daughter has already experienced several eye-opening events in her first half of Kindergarten. My mom tried to tell me - "they loose their innocence once they start school". I truly undrestand now. My relatively shy, quiet, well-behaved (at school) child has been told: "I want you to go home with me and take a shower with me"; "babies come out where you use the bathroom"; and a reference made to her breasts. Also a boy in her class drew a picture of my daughter using the bathroom in his journal. This is just a very small rural school - we aren't talking big city here!! These incidents have really bothered me as a mother. Now I can see how I would like to protect my child from these things - even though I know I can't protect her forever! Anyway to make a long post short - what are your feelings about home schooling?? Do you have arguements for or against this idea?? I just felt th