View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 1:56 pm

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 11 posts ] 
 Ethics 
All-star
All-star

Brandi brought up an interesting and controversial point in class the other night. How far do we go when reaching out to our students? Do we give out phone numbers? Do we check on students at home? When we read disturbing essays, journals, notes, do we confront the student? Involve the parents?

When we see other teachers crossing appropriate student/teacher boundaries, what is our role?

Obviously, this depends on a case by case basis as well as the individual.

Just wondering if you guys have personal stories from your experience as students and/or teachers where you were forced to examine and/or compromise your ethics.

Sat Feb 05, 2005 8:20 pm
All-star
All-star

I know my experience as a student, I had a teacher in high school who gave us his phone number and said to call if we ever had a problem. I can only think of one instance that I know another student called him. This student had good reasons for it. The teacher happened to be the major of the small town the school was in, plus this was the third time he had taught the majority of the students in the class. I don't see a major problem with helping, expecially when I know something bad or harmful is going on, but I will draw the line at giving out my personal information outside of an email. There may be situations where this is warranted, but the rules and regulations of the school and system must be addressed when doing anything with students; especially in today's world where the goings on of a school are under some public scrutiny.

Sun Feb 06, 2005 11:10 pm
All-star
All-star