View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 7:47 pm

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 4 posts ] 
 Boston School District Video from 2/23 
Semi-pro
Semi-pro

I just got home from class and I was thinking about the Boston School District video the whole way home. I went to school in Charlotte from 5th grade until I graduated high school. Charlotte went through a very similar process as the Boston schools went through, but my family and I never had to witness the violence. Even though I went to school in a school district that at one time dealt with the concepts that the Boston district dealt with, I was still shocked to see the footage that the video offered. My question is this: Do ya'll think that the schools should have stayed segregated where there was a black school and a white school or do ya'll think the desegregated schools were better with both races together with all the violence?

Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:11 pm
All-star
All-star

I kept thinking of Charlotte during that video because I did a project on desegregation this past summer, and there were a lot of parallels to the Boston footage. I think we do ourselves as a society a disservice when we don't expose each other to the incredible gifts and insights that all cultures hold. I absolutely believe in desegregation, but I hate the thought of the sacrificial lamb which many black students because after Brown v. Board in 1954. I hate that busing had to be used, though I wonder if there really is/was any other way. I think it is horrible to send a child on a bus early in the morning to a school far away. But I think the multicultural experience is so important to me. It's a double edged sword I think. Though it was a terrible part of our history, I feel that the outcome was necessary.

Wed Feb 23, 2005 9:55 pm
All-star
All-star