View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 6:47 am

Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Homework or no homework 
All-star
All-star

Hey!! What do yall think about giving homework? Do you think it is a good home reinforcement or do you think when kids go home they should have their time for themselves away from school? :D

Mon Mar 17, 2003 3:52 pm
All-star
All-star

I think that it's so important to just be a kid! My goodness, these guys are in school for like 7 hrs a day. I think that some homework must be given to help them practice on things, or learn about new ideas through projects. BUT- I think it needs to be kept at a minimum and certainly no homework on the weekends for elementary kids, unless they are working on a previous project or something.

Mon Mar 17, 2003 4:10 pm
Semi-pro
Semi-pro

well as a student i absolutely hate homework, however, i do think that in some circumstances it is neccessary. as a teacher you are expected to teach so many things and we are only allowed so much time in a day. So i think that sometimes it is very helpful to give the students homework so that they can grasp better what was taught since there isn't much time. math especially is a subject that i think should have some homework with it, b/c practice makes perfect with math.

Mon Mar 17, 2003 4:13 pm
All-star
All-star

I agree with Laura, I still can't stand a lot of homework :D . One thing I'll throw out is something that I heard in high school from one of my favorite teachers. She said that she only gives as much homework to equal the student's age plus 5 minutes. For example if a student is 10 years old, they should only get 15 minutes of homework per night. I think that time is for all of the student's homework. I do agree that students should not have so much homework that they aer unable to go outside and play; because playing is a vital part of development as well. My two cents :)

Mon Mar 17, 2003 6:01 pm
All-star
All-star