View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 12:53 pm

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Other People's Children 
All-star
All-star

I am about halfway through the book and I think Delpit makes a lot of good points and I can see examples from my own experiences in teaching. I loved the part about African American students not responding to directives like, "Would you like to sit down and read a story now?" because their parents would say something like "Boy, sit your butt down and read." I worked at a school that was surrounded by two housing projects but also had the rich kids from town too. The way they talk to their children is as differents as night and day. Now I work in a school that has a lot of poor white and hispanic children. I think that the things Delpit is talking about apply to poor children in general and not necessarily just those of a different race. I think class systems could be considered their own culture as well. Let's face it, I would be just as lost if I spent the week with Madonna as I would if I spent the week in :lol: a Native Alaskan village.

Sun Apr 20, 2003 5:31 pm
All-star
All-star

I'll never forget the time I was serving on the SSMT committee. A student had been referred for possible testing and the committee was looking through his cum folder. On the home language survey on the question that asked what language was generally used at home, the mom had written - Sit down, shut up, go watch tv, and other things that she might say to her child at home - instead of naming the language they spoke. Perhaps this question should have been phrased differently.

Sun Apr 20, 2003 7:51 pm
All-star
All-star

The part about African American students not responding to directives struck me also. I can't say I have changed the way I speak to my students after reading this but I am more aware of how my students respond to requests. It's almost like my own personal experiment. I am curious to see how all children respond. :)