View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 6:22 pm

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Lessons learned my first year of teaching 
All-star
All-star

My first year of teaching I taught at a school in Gaston County. I was so excited to have a job, because at the time I graduated, unlike now, it was difficult to get a teaching job. I had been subbing and doing interims for over a year and a half. It was the most difficult year of my teaching career. I know the first year is always stressful, but I wasn't prepared for all the barriers I encountered, especially with my students' language. I learned lots of new words that year. I know my students had a hard time relating to me, too. I tried to make the class interesting, but many of them had such difficult home lives - such as living in their car, parents in prison, rat infested homes, etc. I really didn't know how to deal with all the situations that I was faced with. I left teaching for two years after finishing that school year. I felt like I had failed all the students in my class that year. As I look back on it now, although it was the most difficult year, it is the year I learned the most from. I feel that it made me a much better teacher and if I were faced with that situation again I would be much more successful in helping my students to succeed and I would be better able to communicate with them.

Tue Apr 22, 2003 10:40 pm
All-star
All-star