View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 8:16 am

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Ghosts of Bell Curves Past 
All-star
All-star

Maybe it's because of the society/age in which I've grown up, but I cannot believe that Gobineau actually thought intelligence formed based on the color of a person's skin. I didn't realize how much I side with Binet in the introduction of IQ tests--"a way of identifying children in primary school whose difficulties in normal classrooms suggest[ed] some need for special education." (Remember, I am a special education teacher and use IQ to determine eligibility in my program based upon federal and state laws.) I don't feel that an IQ should be interpreted as the means to the end--Oh, this kid's IQ is 75, so we'll just pass him along. This kid who has 110, let's pour our energies into his learning. I always hold my students, regardless of their IQ, to the same high standards. IQ isn't supposed to change much over time, but if teachers don't believe that ALL kids can learn and hold ALL kids to the high standards, they essentially side with Gobineau. Using IQ as an indication of what a child is capable of and not challenging them goes against an educator's purpose. And if a teacher doesn't feel that all children can learn, regardless of knowing the IQ, they have no business being in education.

Sat Sep 09, 2006 2:45 pm
All-star
All-star