View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:27 pm

Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
 Racism Today 
Semi-pro
Semi-pro

Currently I am a Resident Assistant in Doughton Hall. During freshmen move in this mother came up to me and was furious that her daughter was going to live with a black girl and wanted a room change immediately. My supervisor tried to talk some sense into this mother but she would not budge and eventually went to talk to the Director of Housing. The mother got her way and the daughter was moved to a different hall. How sad is this??? I wonder what the daughter thought. Did she want this or did the mother make her change rooms?
I believe it is so important for first year students to live in the residence halls. It puts different types of people together from different backgrounds and nationalities. Freshmen can learn so much from living in a residence hall with people who are different than they are. This girl who changed rooms just because of another girls race is going to miss out on a big life learning experience.
I'm sure if some of us are placed in a school that is not very diverse we might encounter this same type of problem. You may have a parent come up to you and demand that their child not work or be around another child.

Thu Mar 01, 2007 7:18 pm
Semi-pro
Semi-pro