View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:32 am

Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
 SO we don't have to follow the standards... 
All-star
All-star

So apparently we don't have to follow the standard course of study in our classrooms....any thoughts for or against this?

Thu Apr 10, 2008 10:01 pm
Semi-pro
Semi-pro

I am not against using the SCS. I think that it provides a great basis and outline of what should and need to teach. I think that it is a great tool to help keep teachers on track of what comes next and things like that. However, it would be nice to know that if some topics don't get covered it won't have a major affect on your students. I like to think that as a teacher I have done my best to teach them as much content as possible. But like I said if something doesn't get covered I would like to think that it won't come back and haunt me or be detremental to my students and whether or not they pass.

Fri Apr 11, 2008 6:54 am
All-star
All-star

I think that the SCS is a great tool for learning and for teaching but I dont think that you should have to follow it to a T. I think as long as you are using it as a guideline then it can work well but when teachers strictly follow the SCS and do not stray from it at all you are basically just teaching from the book and not allowing any outside sources to help lead in learning.

Fri Apr 11, 2008 4:12 pm
Semi-pro
Semi-pro