View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 4:26 pm

Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
 Creativity On the Walls!! 
Semi-pro
Semi-pro

This is a subject that really bothers me. I am a very creative person and when I walk into a room, I want it to interest me. As an elementary teacher, I will have a beautiful room that children love to come to. I feel like after elementary this creativity drops off. Even in college, if the room is boring then I don't want to be there. My question to non-elementary teachers is, Do you plan to make your classroom creative and fun even in high school? Do you feel that it really effects the way students learn? What are some of your main idea's to make your classroom a visual excitement without being to much of a distraction?

As I always say, "We are all entertainers, as well as educators, and the classroom is our stage full of exciting knowledge that should be displayed in a creative way!"

Thu Jun 19, 2008 9:58 am
Semi-pro
Semi-pro

Yes and Yes and Yes. I want a poster to cover my door with (no outside distractions!) That has a picture of Uncle Sam, you know the one, that says "I want YOU to think!"
Maybe a couple of couches, if possible. The key is to have whatever you bring into your classroom be constructive and not a distraction. Photos of individuals not emphasized in the textbooks because they were too important. A small library containing all of the books you're not supposed to have in a classroom such as Mao's little red book, mein kampf, Malcom X's autobiography, Letters from the Lacandon and more. Maybe a few dozen plants so when camo comes back in style several of my students mysteriously disappear.

Thu Jun 19, 2008 1:43 pm
Semi-pro
Semi-pro