View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 7:36 pm

Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 What factors influence where we teach? 
All-star
All-star

It has been my experience that when people find out that I am studying to be a teacher their first question is where do you want to teach? Quickly followed for so you want to teach back home? Or why don't you want to teach back home? I often wonder what affects where we choose to teach? Is it our experiences in our schools growing up that draws us to teach in our home towns or negative experiences that keep us away?

For me I know I do not want to go back to my hometown to teach after graduating college. The factors that helped me make this decision are varied and come from experience and goals in life. Personally I know that I grew up in a well-off community where I was the same as everyone in my school. My teachers were just like us as well. We all lived within a few miles of the school, attended the same churches, and shopped at the same stores. Personally I don't want to teach an entire class of students who are just like me ethnically, socioeconomically, or religiously. I am aiming to teach in school systems that are more diverse than the one I grew up in. Part of my decision is based on the fact that I hope to use the resources that I have because of my family to help give students who are from those homes where life is not full of endless opportunities a chance to have access to new resources. I also find that I connect with students who come from difficult home-lives easier than those that come from the ideal family situation. This is what draws me to inner city or rural locations for my teaching career.

What about you? Why do you want to teach in a specific area? Is it because of the location, the students, your experiences?

Thu Sep 18, 2008 11:32 am
Semi-pro
Semi-pro