View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Apr 18, 2024 9:40 pm

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
 Any specific creative teaching ideas already? 
Semi-pro
Semi-pro

Like how the teacher took the soccer ball and turned that ball into a huge creative teaching tool, do any of you already have any ideas about how you want to teach a specific idea/objectives?

As a music teacher, I've been thinking about fun exercises that would include lots of course goals. I would like to have my students sit around in a big circle and while I start a steady rhythm. Then, the students could come in, one-by-one, and start improvising their own rhythm, beat, or melody. Just doing something as simple as that gets the students involved in the class, has the student improvise (and compose!) collectively and indivdually, among other objectives.

Tue Feb 24, 2009 6:02 pm
All-star
All-star

I'm a Secondary Ed English major, and I already know how I want to approach poetry in my classroom. Poetry usually gets a lot of groans - mainly because you have one big long poetry unit filled with puritan poetry and stuff like that. I want to make poetry exciting. We all liked it as kids - nursery rhymes, riddles, Shel Silverstein etc - so I don't see why it can't be enjoyable as a teenager. I think to introduce poetry and spark some interest, I am going to use music as the introduction. Lyrics are definitely poetic. I'd pick a few songs/lyrics to be examples to study some of the elements of poetry - rhythm/beat, rhyme (maybe), use of language etc. I'd turn it over and let my students bring in some (appropriate) songs and we'd look at those lyrics. I feel like that would get them used to the terms of poetry in a fun way and give them a relatable background. That way, the standard sort of poetry I'm probably going to have to teach won't be as overwhelming and intimidating.

Tue Feb 24, 2009 10:36 pm
Semi-pro
Semi-pro