View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 10:37 am

This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 20 posts ] 
 Bouncy balls in classrooms 
Semi-pro
Semi-pro

I just wanted to know what everyone felt about the idea of having children sit on bouncy balls in classrooms. I can see how it would be a good thing to help them focus but I can also see them just wanting to play on it. I also think that other students would be distracted by it and would want to know why just one student or a few get to do it. As a teacher I feel like I would have a parent conference or at least have the student stay after school to introduce the bouncy ball, let them play on it for alittle bit so when it actually came to classroom time they would understand it was there to help them and not to play with. What does everyone else think?

Thu Apr 02, 2009 9:58 am
All-star
All-star

I agree, I think that the bouncy balls could be a great thing, but its the process of getting the students introduced to them and understanding the reasoning for the bouncy balls that i feel like would be hard. Maybe if I had some direction from a teacher who had previously used them, then it would be easier to come at this new idea. Also, how would the parents and administration react to this idea? I mean, for me its a completely new thing. I am a high school education major. Would this work at that level? Are there other alternatives that could do the trick without the distraction? These are all things running through my mind since we discussed this idea.

Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:02 pm
Semi-pro
Semi-pro