View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 5:28 am

Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 computers in primary classrooms 
All-star
All-star

I think I agree that computers should be used only once a child is literate. Otherwise, it seems good to me that a kid be able to use them as soon as they are able. Whether educators like them or not, they are one of the most essential tools needed for students, and for the working world. I do not think they should take the place of typical classwork early on, but should instead supplement it. Obviously, as you get older, it becomes a subject in itself entirely.
I am a little ignorant to some of these things. Many of you have experience in the classroom that I have very little knowledge about. I hope that I can contribute and learn from you all as well.
A little embarrassed at my lack of understanding :oops:
Craig

Mon Sep 08, 2003 7:55 am
All-star
All-star

I feel that young children should be able to read prior to using the computer. I am not familiar with the studies that the computer generated tutoring does not improve reading readiness. As a parent, I find that over exposure to multi-media is a taking over children and preventing them from developing a "love" for reading. That in turn can effect how successful students in school. There is a huge difference in being literate and being able to truly read. I support the later introduction to computers, which would help free up some $$$ for more technology in the higher grades.

Mon Sep 08, 2003 12:47 pm
Profile WWW
All-star
All-star